August 23, 2007

 Navigation

   Home Page

 News & Features

   News

 Columns & Opinions

   Publisher's Note

   Boomers

   Pinings

   Longshots

   Techie

 Pop Culture

   Film

   TV

   Books
   Video Games
   CD Reviews

 Living

   Food

   Wine

   Beer
   Grazing Guide

 Music

   Articles

   Music Roundup

   Live Music/DJs

   MP3 & Podcasts

   Bandmates

 Arts

   Theater

   Art

 Find A Hippo

   Manchester

   Nashua

 Classifieds

   View Classified Ads

   Place a Classified Ad

 Advertising

   Advertising

   Rates

 Contact Us

   Hippo Staff

   How to Reach The Hippo

 Past Issues

   Browse by Cover


Free folk fest, the first
Nashua musicians take the baton from Richie Havens
By Erica Febre efebre@hippopress.com

When Richie Havens performed at Tupelo Music Hall in Londonderry a while back, he had words of inspiration: “It’s your turn.”

Chris Michaud and Craig Ferreira, the two local musicians who stuck around after the performance to talk with Havens, say they weren’t quite sure what Havens meant until one night when they were on stage at Greeley Park jamming out. Then it hit them, and the first Nashua Folk Festival was conceived.

“We wanted to get some of the local music out there for people to hear, give them someplace to play. I’ve been going there to see concerts forever and always wanted to play there,” Ferreira said.

Ferreira and Michaud approached Nashua’s recreation department; within weeks they were given an official date for the fest.

The Nashua Folk Festival, on Saturday, Sept. 8, from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., will feature ten New England acts, including Michaud and Ferreira, at Greeley Park.

Michaud and Ferreira knew most of the acts through open-mike nights in the area.

“A lot of these musicians are also influenced by folk music. Folk music just promotes a good, happy time,” Michaud said.

“It’s going to be a very peaceful environment.... This is going to give the city a relaxing day of music,” Ferreira said.

The festival will be free and open to the public, as required by the town. Michaud and Ferreira said they wouldn’t have it any other way.

The Nashua Folk Festival will be held “picnic style,” since no food or beverages will be available for purchase on the grounds.


Get Folked
What:
First Annual Nashua Folk Festival, free concert
When: Saturday, Sept. 8, from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Where: Greeley Park, Concord St., Nashua.
For more information: Schedule changes and other details are available at myspace.com/nashuaff. E-mails can be sent to nflkfestival@gmail.com.
Play times (subject to change):
10 a.m. Ben Dwyer
11 a.m. Susan Murotake
noon. Joe Carson
1 p.m. Brian Bergeron
2 p.m. Chris Michaud & Glomers Alike, Eric Ciccone, lead guitarist
3 p.m. Building James
4 p.m. Dave Coffin
5 p.m. Chuck Anastasiou
6 p.m. Sarah Tollerson
7 p.m. Will Knox

For music samples and more details on the artists:
Ben Dwyer: myspace.com/bendwyer.
Susan Murotake: myspace.com/susan_murotake.
Joe Carson: myspace.com/joecarsonmusic.
Brian Bergeron: briangergeron.net or myspace.com/brianbergeron.
Chris Michaud & Glomers Alike: myspace.com/chrismichaud.
Building James: myspace.com/buildingjames.
Dave Coffin: davecoffinonline.com or myspace.com/davecoffin.
Chuck Anastasiou: chuckamusic.com or myspace.com/charlesanastasiou.
Sarah Tollerson: sarahtollerson.com or myspace.com/sarahtollerson.
Will Knox: will-knox.com or myspace.com/willknoxmusic